You are here

The 2016 Congress

Prestons 29th Chess Congress took place from Friday 2nd December 2016, to Sunday 4th December. It was a five round swiss system tournament with 4 sections depending on playing strength. The fifth congress at our new venue at The University Of Central Lancashire (uclan) Harrington Refectory. 125 players took part.

Team Prize


David Newhouse OPEN

M.Peacock (Preston) 4/5 1st=
B.Lund (Preston) 4/5 1st=
D.Jarmany (Crusaders Blackburn) 4/5 1st=


G.Ashcroft (Preston) 4/5 1st=
N.Coward (Blackpool) 4/5 1st=
NT.Jones (Maryport) 4/5 1st=

Eric Downham MINOR U145

D.Siddall (Carlisle) 5/5 1st
S.Ross (Newport) 3.5/5 2nd=
J.Widdup (Morecambe) 3.5/5 2nd=
Farhad Amir-Afshari (Atticus) 3.5/5 2nd=
M.Mallard (Sasra) 3.5/5 2nd=
W.Egan (Ecclesall) 3.5/5 2nd=
S.Clifford (Lancaster University) 3.5/5 2nd=


Diego Agejas Garcia(Liverpool) 4.5/5 1st=
A.Beswick (Chorlton-cum-Hardy) 4.5/5 1st=
M.Fisher (Oldham ) 4/5 3rd=
C.Couch (Preston) 4/5 3rd=

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer